London's Candidates Announced for European Elections

Over 80 competing to become region's eight Members of European Parliament

European Election

The names of all candidates who will be standing as a Member for the London Region in the European Parliamentary Election on 23 May 2019 have been announced.

There are over 80 candidates running to become one of the region’s eight MEPs, and the full list of who is running can be found here.

They belong to the following parties:

  • Animal Welfare Party
  • Change UK – The Independent Group
  • Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Green Party
  • Labour Party
  • Liberal Democrats
  • The Brexit Party
  • UK European Union Party (UKEUP)
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Women’s Equality Party
  • Independent candidates

Wandsworth Council have informed this website that the poll cards are with the Royal Mail. If you don’t receive your poll card for any reason, you can still vote if you're registered.

Find out more and register to vote on GOV.UK

To vote in the UK, you must be registered to vote and also fill in the European Parliament voter registration form (pdf 154KB). This must received by the council no later than Tuesday 7 May.

If you don’t complete and return this form, you won’t be able to vote in the European Parliamentary Elections in this borough.

If you are a citizen of an EU country (other than the UK, Republic of Ireland, Malta and Cyprus) resident in the UK, you can either vote in the UK or in your home country. If you want to vote in your home country, contact electoral authorities in the EU country where you are a citizen.

If you want to vote in the UK, you must:
* Register to vote by Tuesday 7 May 2019 (if you are not already registered).
* Download and fill in the European Parliament voter registration form.
* Send the form to, drop it into the Customer Centre or post it to the council - it must be received by Tuesday 7 May 2019.

Further information can be found on the Your Vote Matters website.

Postal voting
The council must receive postal vote applications or changes to any existing postal or proxy vote arrangements by 5pm on Wednesday 8 May 2019.

Proxy voting
The council must receive proxy vote applications by 5pm on Wednesday 15 May 2019.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 23 May – to find out where your polling station is enter your post code at

If you’re away or can’t go to the polling station on 23 May, you can do one of the following:

  • apply to vote by post – the deadline to apply is 5pm, Wednesday 8 May
  • apply to vote by proxy (this means someone can vote on your behalf at your polling station). The deadline to apply is 5pm, Wednesday 15 May.

Download an application form to vote by post or proxy.

April 30, 2019