Eleven New Honorary Aldermen Thanked For Their Public Service

Former councillors officially recognised for their dedication

Wandsworth Aldermen

Former Wandsworth Mayor Leslie McDonnell (pictured below) is one of eleven former councillors who have been honoured for their service to the borough by being made Honorary Aldermen.

Each served their constituents on the council for ten or more years. Local authorities can confer the title of Honorary Alderman on people who have provided ‘eminent services to the council’. As well as the title, the new aldermen have been presented with an illuminated scroll and their names will be inscribed on a panel in the council chamber.

The new Aldermen are:

• Claire Clay, former Wandsworth Common councillor
• James Cousins who represented Shaftesbury ward.
• Antonia Dunn, a former Bedford ward councillor
• Martin Johnson MBE, former councillor for Tooting and twice Mayor of Wandsworth who served as a council for 47 years.
• Maurice Heaster OBE, a former deputy leader of the council, Mayor of Wandsworth and Wandsworth Common councillor who joined the council 50 years ago.
• Leslie McDonnell, who represented East Putney and served as Mayor of Wandsworth
• Rex Osborn, Graveney councillor and former opposition leader
• Tessa Strickland, who served St Mary’s Park
• Stuart Thom, who represented the people of Fairfield and was twice the Mayor of Wandsworth
• Kathy Tracey OBE, former councillor for Wandsworth Common
• Caroline Usher, who represented the people of Balham

Leader of the council Ravi Govindia said, “I’m delighted that the years of public service of these eleven former councillors has been officially recognised in this way. Each dedicated themselves to representing the people of their ward and the borough as a whole and on behalf of Wandsworth Council I would like to thank them for their efforts.”


January 16, 2019