Tooting By-Election Will Be On June 16th

As Sadiq Khan resigns following his mayoral success

The date for the forthcoming Tooting Parliamentary constituency by-election has been set for Thursday, June 16.

The seat has become vacant following the resignation of the sitting Labour MP Sadiq Khan, who was elected as Mayor of London last week.

People wishing to stand in the by-election must submit their nominations to the returning officer by 4pm Friday, May 20. A full list of candidates will be formally published after this deadline.

The Labour candidate selection will held this Saturday with the shortlisted candidates named as Naushabah Khan, Mike McLaughlin, Jasvir Singh, Rosena Allin-Khan and Martin Smith.

Independent candidate George Galloway has also said he is "almost certain" he will stand, while Dan Watkins is declared as the Conservative Parliamentary Candidate for Tooting.

Residents living in the constituency - which covers Tooting, Balham, Earlsfield and Wandsworth Common - who are not already on the electoral register, must register by midnight on Tuesday, May 31.

You can check if your name appears on the register by emailing or calling 020 8871 6023.

Residents who are registered and would like a postal vote are being advised that they must submit their applications by 5pm Wednesday, June 1. People who are already permanently registered for a postal vote will not need to apply again.

Polling day for the Tooting seat will be one week before the European Referendum is held. Under current electoral rules the two ballots could not be held on the same day.

Ahead of polling day all registered voters will receive a polling card showing them the location of their polling station. The cards are not actually required to vote. If they are lost or mislaid people can find out where their local polling station is by keying in their full postcode at
On June 16 polling stations in the constituency will be open between 7am and 10pm. The counting of the votes will commence that evening.

For more information about the electoral process and how to register to vote or apply for a postal or proxy vote should visit


May 18, 2016