Who Wants To Be Your MP?

Nominations have now closed for candidates standing in next month’s general election

On June 8 residents will elect Members of Parliament for the borough’s three constituencies - Battersea, Putney and Tooting.

The following candidates are standing for election:

Battersea Constituency
Chris COGHLAN – Independent
Lois Elaine DAVIS – Green Party
Richard Adam DAVIS – Liberal Democrats
Marsha Chantol DE CORDOVA – Labour Party
Jane Elizabeth ELLISON – The Conservative Party Candidate
Daniel Peter LAMBERT – The Socialist Party (GB)
Eugene POWER – UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Putney Constituency
Ben FLETCHER – Green Party
Justine GREENING – The Conservative Party Candidate
Ryan MERCER – Liberal Democrats
Neeraj PATIL – Labour Party
Lotta QUIZEEN– Independent
Patricia Mary WARD– UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Tooting Constituency
Dr Rosena Chantelle ALLIN-KHAN – Labour Party
Ryan COSHALL – UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Alexander James GLASSBROOK – Liberal Democrats
Esther OBIRI-DARKO – Green Party
Dan WATKINS – The Conservative Party Candidate

Only British, Irish and Commonwealth citizens can vote at UK Parliamentary elections. This means the European Union nationals on the electoral register (other than British, Irish, Cypriot and Maltese citizens) are not able to cast ballots at this election.

There is still time to register to vote, but applications must be completed before midnight on Monday, May 22. People can register online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

The electoral register is compiled annually – every autumn – and people who did not return their registration form at the time or register online may not be registered. People who receive and pay council tax bills are not automatically included on the register.

People can check if their name appears on the register by calling (020) 8871 6023.

Residents who are registered and would like a postal vote are being advised that they must submit their applications by 5pm on Tuesday, May 23. People who are already permanently registered for a postal vote will not need to apply again.

An application for a postal vote can be downloaded from www.aboutmyvote.co.uk

Poll cards for this election are now being sent to all eligible voters and these should be received by early next week at the latest. Anyone who does not receive a poll card can contact electoral services on (020) 8871 6023 to check they are registered.

These cards are not actually required to vote. If they are lost or mislaid people will be able to find where their local polling station is in the days running up to the election by keying in their full postcode at www.wandsworth.gov.uk/vote, where people can also view a full timetable of important dates in the run up to polling day.

On June 8 polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm. The counting of votes for the borough’s three Parliamentary constituencies will commence that night, with the results expected to be announced in the early hours of June 9.

May 14, 2017