General Election - Local Results May Be Much Closer Than Expected

Tooting and Putney seats look safe, but Battersea result could swing

Tomorrow residents will elect Members of Parliament for the borough’s three constituencies - Battersea, Putney and Tooting.

Jane Ellison's Conservative-held Battersea seat looks like it could be closely contended according to seat-by-seat analysis from Lord Ashcroft Polls which put it as only 52% likely to to go to the Consevatives. Meanwhile marketing researchers You Gov are describing it as a 'semi-marginal Conservative seat', with the possibility as the UK goes to the polls of a 'Labour lean'.

In the recent past the Battersea seat has reflected the national swing from left to right-wing political power. It was held by Labour's Martin Linton from the 1997 General Election - when Labour was elected into Government - to 2010 when the Conservative Jane Ellison won her seat and the General Election resulted in a Conservative/Lib Dem coalition.

Marsha Chantol de Cordova is the Labour candidate for Battersea.

YouGov is predicting a 'Safe Labour' for Tooting and a 'Lean Conservative' for Putney, Roehampton and Southfields which would result in safe seats for Labour's Rosena Allin-Khan and the Conservative's Justine Greening respectively.

The following candidates, in aphabetical order, are standing for election this Thursday:

Battersea Constituency
Chris COGHLAN – Independent
Lois Elaine DAVIS – Green Party
Richard Adam DAVIS – Liberal Democrats
Marsha Chantol DE CORDOVA – Labour Party
Jane Elizabeth ELLISON – The Conservative Party Candidate
Daniel Peter LAMBERT – The Socialist Party (GB)
Eugene POWER – UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Jane Ellison (Conservative) has held the Battersea seat since the 2010 General Election.

General Election 2015: Battersea
Party Candidate Votes % ±
Conservative Jane Ellison 26,730 52.4 +5.0
Labour Will Martindale  18,792 36.8 +1.7
Liberal Democrat Luke Taylor 2,241 4.4 -10.3
Green Joe Stuart 1,682 3.3 +2.2
UKIP Christopher Howe 1,586 3.1 +2.1
Majority 7,938 15.6 +3.4
Turnout 51,031 67.0 +1.3
Conservative hold Swing +1.6


Putney, Roehampton and Southfields Constituency
Ben FLETCHER – Green Party
Justine GREENING – The Conservative Party Candidate
Ryan MERCER – Liberal Democrats
Neeraj PATIL – Labour Party
Lotta QUIZEEN– Independent
Patricia Mary WARD– UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Justine Greening (Conservative) has been the MP for this constituency since 2005.

General Election 2015: Putney
Party Candidate Votes % ±
Conservative Justine Greening 23,018 53.8 +0.8
Labour Sheila Boswell 12,838 30.0 +2.6
Liberal Democrat Andrew Hallett 2,717 6.3 −10.6
Green Christopher Poole 2,067 4.8 +3.4
UKIP Patricia Ward 1,989 4.6 +3.5
Animal Welfare Guy Dessoy 184 0.4 N/A
Majority 10,180 23.8 -0.8
Turnout 42,813 67.0 +2.6
Conservative hold Swing -0.9


Tooting Constituency
Dr Rosena Chantelle ALLIN-KHAN – Labour Party
Ryan COSHALL – UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Alexander James GLASSBROOK – Liberal Democrats
Esther OBIRI-DARKO – Green Party
Dan WATKINS – The Conservative Party Candidate

Rosena Allin-Khan (Labour) has held the Tooting seat since the by-election in 2016 which was triggered after Sadiq Khan was voted in as London Mayor.

By-election 2016: Tooting
Party Candidate Votes % ±
Labour Rosena Allin-Khan 17,894 55.9 +8.7
Conservative Dan Watkins 11,537 36.1 −5.8
Green Esther Obiri-Darko 830 2.6 −1.5
Liberal Democrat Alex Glassbrook 820 2.6 −1.3
UKIP Elizabeth Jones 507 1.6 −1.3
Christian Peoples Des Coke 164 0.5 +0.5
Monster Raving Loony Alan "Howling Laud" Hope 54 0.2 +0.2
Independent Zirwa Javaid 30 0.1 +0.1
One Love Ankit Love 32 0.1 +0.1
Immigrants Political Party Akbar Ali Malik 44 0.1 +0.1
English Democrat Graham Moore 50 0.2 +0.2
Independent Zia Samadani 23 0.1 +0.1
Independent Smiley Smillie 5 0.0 +0.0
Give Me Back Elmo Bobby Smith 9 0.0 +0.0
Majority 6,357 19.9 +14.6
Turnout 31,763 42.5 −27.2
Labour hold Swing +7.3

Polls are open from 7am-10pm on Thursday and you do not need to take your polling card in order to vote. As long as you have registered and received a poll card your polling station will have a record of your details.

Chcek your poll card for the address and map details of your designated polling sation.

The counting of votes for the borough’s three Parliamentary constituencies will commence on the night of June 8th, with the results expected to be announced in the early hours of June 9th.

June 7, 2017